The Un-Motivation Bug

When was the last time you woke up and had the fierce burning desire to do absolutely nothing?

You weren’t tired or discouraged or burnt out, just lacking the motivation to get up and actually get some writing done. 

For me, that was this morning. 

I’ve spent the past few weeks editing my first ever completed original novel, Forsake, part one of a trilogy, and I’m still on chapter one. This is the sixth draft. I’ve had different mood beginnings, from happy-then-suddenly-filled-with-terror to so-filled-with-dread-its-impossible-to-not-see-the-drama-coming, and I’ve loved them all. 

Until I didn’t. 

But I’m determined to self-publish by the beginning of next year, and want to begin marketing and advertising by the end of this year, so I need to have the book done. So I’ve been working on it non-stop, ignoring failing to successfully juggle that and my other novels-in-progress and my blogs. It’s been a brain-wringing time. I would not recommend. 

I would not recommend it to myself, either, which is why I’m here, blogging, instead of writing. I don’t want to. 

So how do you get rid of the un-motivation bug? Well, that depends. If your bug is actually a non-motivation bug and not a ugh-if-I-see-another-word-I-am-going-to-scream-my-brain-is-mush-leave-me-to-die, then it’s pretty easy to shake. Treatment methods include writing anyway, writing something else, like a blog post, listening to music of either the worded or un-worded variety, doodling, eating, standing up and spinning on the spot, really anything that gets your body, and hence your mind, out of feeling like a giant ball of lumpy clay. Exercise works amazing for this as well, but I often have less motivation for that than anything else so…

If you have the ugh-if-I-see-another-word-I-am-going-to-scream-my-brain-is-mush-leave-me-to-die bug, then you shouldn’t be reading this. Go to bed. Shoo. We don’t want you to die.

In the spirit of getting past the icky feeling of not-wanting to write (or do anything, really), how about we all take a moment to breathe. Inhale. Hold. Hold. HOLD IT! Exhale. Better?

Happy Writing!

3 responses to “The Un-Motivation Bug

  1. Haha! Great post! I’ve definitely suffered from lack of motivation. I hope your un-motivation gets better soon! And good luck with your adventures in self-publishing. What genre is your book? Do you have any advice about marketing or self-publishing?
    Thanks again for a great blog post 🙂 Rachel

    • Rachel, I am so sorry I’ve taken so long to get back to you! I know what you’re probably thinking, but it wasn’t the unmotivation bug, I promise! I’ve been doing some really great reading on just what you’ve asked me! My book is non-fiction self help, geared towards helping people live freer, dragon-inspired lives. As for marketing, I’ve just read a book by Sandi Krakowski called ‘Read their minds’ and in it she talks about a few basic principals. One of my favorites is ‘Be 100% you’. I think it’s really simple and really profound, like many of her principals are. Another thing I’ve learned through trial and error, start marketing yourself and your book long before you publish. Do a few give-aways. Get on your social platforms and ask questions. Build your audience through blog tours or anything else you can, because you can’t sell something if you’ve got no buyers. As for self publishing, I have to say it, do your research. When I first started I went in thinking it’d be super easy, I could upload the book and then sales would magically come in. Turns out uploading the book is a long process that requires a ton of patience and ingenuity, and sales don’t magically come in, as a matter of fact getting the book written and published is the easy part! That’s when your marketing campaign both pays off and really starts! Hope this helps!

      • Thanks so much for your reply! Wow, self-publishing sounds like a stressful process… Thank you very much for the advice. I’ll be sure to check out that Sandi Krakowski book 🙂 And your book sounds amazing too! Inspiration from dragons is definitely something I can get on board with 😀

Leave a Reply

